© Michel Le BrisEtonnants Voyageurs, St Malo

Monday 20 May 2:30pm CEST

The Future of the Novel

Keynote by: Michel Le Bris

Participants include: Björn Larsson, Jean Rouaud, Patrick Rambaud, Percival Everett, Vassilis Alexakis, Boualem Sansal, Léonora Miano, Maryse Condé, Serge Bramly, Mathias Enard, Paolo Rumiz, Dimitris Stefanakis, David Vann, Nick Stone, Yahia Belaskri, Niq Mhlongo, Diana Evans, Damon Galgut, Arnaldur Indridason, Kopano Matlwa, Justin Cronin, Gaspard-Marie Janvier, Kgebetli Moele, Clément Caliari, Murray Bail.

Author Biography:

Michel Le Bris was born in Britain in 1944. As the director of the Cause of the People, he was sentenced to 8 months of prison before Jean-Paul Sartre took over the role. He was a co-founder of the daily newspaper Libération, and, together with Jean-Paul Sartre, he created and directed the Wild France collection published by Éditions Gallimard.

In 1990, he founded the festival Étonnants Voyageurs (Astonishing Travelers) to promote the idea of “world literature”, and he is also at the origin of the movement known as the “travel writers”. Together with Jean Rouaud, he wrote the “manifesto for a world literature in French”, which was signed by 44 writers including JMG Le Clézio and Édouard Glissant, and was published in Le Monde on March 15, 2007.